Whatever…

‘Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.’ Philippians 4:8

I woke up with this on my  mind this  morning. This particular verse has come to mind, or has been mentioned in conversations, or has been in devotionals I have read, or I have heard it in sermons many times in the past two months. I don’t want to ignore that. As I am T-minus 7.5 hours away from having to be all packed up and hit the road for the airport there is the temptation for me to get wrapped up in anxiety and stress. Instead, the Spirit is urging me to think on all of those things. I wrote down in my journal what immediately came to mind when I thought on each of those words.

  • True- God’s Word (and in this case I am thinking on Philippians 4:8-9)
  • Honorable- adoption
  • Just- the Father
  • Pure- my identity in Jesus
  • Lovely- the birds chirping as the sun rises
  • Commendable- the Spirit’s work in me and in the people around me
  • Excellent- the sunrise
  • Worthy of praise- Jesus

And then I continued to read onto verse 9. It reads, “What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me- practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.” 

This is perfect for me. The God of peace- with  me?! Yes, please! Today His mercies are new. His grace has been lavished on me. I am loved. May my life reflect an honest, pure, true worship of the Triune God- Father, Son, and Spirit. 

I will never have this morning back…the dawn of leaving my home here in the southeast to venture forth on foreign (to me) soil. I desire to live in the present and the Lord is helping me with this. I am grateful. I will choose to fight for this because it is far more valuable than stressing the many little details I could get wrapped up in. It is a lovely day, with a purpose, and I have been given the opportunity to live it. And I pray I live it in a manner worthy of the Gospel.

Now that I have shared- time to get packing! 

Leave a comment