Ramblin’ on

Some quick thoughts before I lay my head down on the PILLOW tonight.

Hospitality shown by strangers continues to amaze and challenge me. It (the point of hospitality) isn’t about entertaining folks you love, know well, and enjoy. I am learning that it is about making yourself and your space and your resources available to people- whether you know them or not. Thank you, Ezra and Nancy, for opening your home to me here in Lincoln, MT. I will never be able to articulate how much I appreciate the ways I have been warmly welcomed into people’s homes throughout my whole life. It is a testimony to me. I am a recipient but also a student. I am learning through others’ lives how important it is for me to share myself, my space, my resources…It’s been a beautiful expression of love for me.

Cowboy camping with a full moon overhead, 50 degree air temperature, bright shining stars… with a friend laying not too far… in Montana= fun memories! The past couple of days have been pleasant. I walked and was wrought with emotion during the dusk hour. I kept saying, “Lord, this is just perfect.” The moment was sweet for me- taking it all in.

Speaking of taking it all in, I am a matter of days and not many miles away from the end of this particular journey. Mileage I find myself with a mere 267.5 miles left to hike; days-wise there are only 10 more nights in the woods and in 12 days I anticipate I will be standing at the monument as a CDT thru-hiker and a bonafide Triple Crowner. The snow and cold air sweeping in tomorrow will keep things in perspective as there will be a shift of survival instead of daydreaming. 🙂 I will say that after my flight was booked this morning and I had to go to my last long resupply, none of my food was appetizing. It is the first time I resupplied and NONE of my food appealed to me. I think it’s because I know that flight home is booked… I am ready for the change in diet coming soon.

I have only lost 8 pounds. I lost 13 at one point but I guess I am putting it back on with muscle. Go figure.

Lastly- don’t forget to go with the flow and to receive the gift. That goes for you and I am being reminded myself. That is all for me.

One thought on “Ramblin’ on

  1. Ten days!!! Amazing accomplishment girl!! Only God could have supplied the strength!! Can’t wait to hug your neck, see tons of pictures, hear lots of stories and feed you some real home cooked food!!
    Love and prayers for the last leg!
    Debbie and Bo

Leave a comment