Hope and faith and the trail

“Tribulation brings about perseverance; and perseverance, proven character; and proven character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us” (Romans 5:3–5).

My last few miles of hiking on the official CDT that gloriously beautiful morning on September 21 were sweet. The Lord brought this verse to mind as I reflected on the difficult times I encountered while on the CDT. It was actually quite strange to walk toward the border with the warm temperatures and the blue skies and the sun shining so brightly considering I had walked through 8″ of snow the week before while in The Bob. It almost convinced me that my hike had been easy-peasy and enjoyable the whole time, which is far from the truth. Everything seemed right in that moment but I couldn’t help but remember those wet, cold, windy, treacherous hours and days. Then I considered how The Lord puts to work for my good each of those trying times… to build me up in perseverance (why seeing the end of this trail was sweet), character and hope in Him. Easy-peasy, good times aren’t described as being the means to the type of sanctification this gal needs in order to be made more like Jesus. Instead, trials and tough moments are needed. And boy did it feel like there was an abundance of those trying times. On the other side of this hike I can acknowledge purpose and an appreciation of the work of The Lord. Then to think, it is just a glimpse into the bigger, grander picture of glorification and eternity!

My heart was bursting with gratitude but my mind was confused as I approached the long awaited Canadian border. The gratitude was for wonderful weather in the moment, for the people I shared trail life with, for kind words spoken and hearts shown in several special moments, for The Lord’s faithfulness (this runs deep for me), for the trials on the trail that were used to strip my layers off and create more awareness of my need for Jesus. Confusion was sparked as I pondered on transition and chapters of my life ending and starting…as I soaked in the great weather while remembering the many crummy, scary days of weather.

We need clouds & darkness to help kill self-dependence, wean us from fragile feelings & to fuel faith in Christ – Spurgeon

I read this a few weeks/months ago and it struck me. Literally and figuratively I experienced darkness and clouds from New Mexico through Montana. I wasn’t a stranger to darkness and clouds. But I also wasn’t victim to them as often as I sometimes felt. Instead, as I’m reflecting on the trip, I can see that I was a student learning from my Master… a daughter growing in her understanding and acceptance of my Father’s love for me… a sheep being tended to and led by my Great Shepherd.

Fragile feelings
Self-dependence

Break these and grow in me;
FUEL MY FAITH IN CHRIST

I ‘d love to have some deep reflective thoughts for you right now about my hike. You know, the kind that could inspire you to go do your own hike or to live more intentionally. But I am experiencing an emotional separation from all that happened these past five months. If it’s anything like the A.T. then I ought to embrace this past season as my own in a couple of weeks. In the meantime I suspect I’ll talk to a good number of people about my summer. I’ll sincerely share my experience but it may be from a third party’s perspective as though I just watched someone else hike her tail off.

Until next time…

Leave a comment