While in the Bob Marshall Wilderness

Teach me the happy art of attending to things temporal with a mind intent on things eternal. -Valley of Vision, Christlikeness

It’s late. My headlamp has been burning battery tonight for almost an hour and a half as I’ve settled in for the night by doing various chores in the night hours. I’ve been carrying print-offs of various VOV prayers this whole trail. To be honest, too often I neglect slowing down and setting aside time to chew on the truths in those prayers. Tonight, though, I read the above quote from one of those rich Puritan prayers and wanted to share.

I need the above reminder because I find myself in the silliest tizzies over temporal things. ETERNITY matters. The temporal matter as long as they build up and point toward the eternal. But the temporal independent of such purpose is futile. Well, I get wrapped up in the latter more than I’d like to.

Tonight I was sensitive and irritable when it came to RB and I interacting, especially in picking out tenting sites. Petty. Felt like an enormous issue, though. And then as I thought on truths and responded to the Spirit’s conviction, I realized it wasn’t the most important or urgent issue that needed my emotional investment. Where in the world was my hope? My foundation? My eternal perspective?

Leave a comment